Recent reviews left by fellow travelers | Search for your vacation rental today
Reviews: Click ‘create your own review’ button below to leave your feedback
Submit your review
Our family of 6 has stayed at Southern Sands property multiple times. What a great property. Clean, easy access from the road. Easy access to parking and from parking to unit. Great Beach front location with great views of the water. Walk out of the unit right on to the beach. I cannot stress enough how great the access is to everything. We stayed here in 2016 and 2017. We tried out a different spot in 2018 and the whole time we were all saying how we wished we would have gone back to Southern Sands.
We are heading back this year and can’t wait.
Thanks for your wonderful review! We agree, Southern Sands beach access and location to everything is amazing!
We had a great stay here! This is our second time renting this unit and love how the patio faces the ocean. My only complaint is that the drains in the bathtub/shower are TERRIBLE and do not drain well at all. After a 10 minute shower you are standing in 2-3 inches of water/sand. Then it would take at least 10 minutes for it to full drain for the next person. Yuck! Other than that.... we had a great stay.
Hi Lindsey, thanks for your review! We are happy to know you had a great stay! Please know that we are an email or phone call away to address any issues encountered. We would have unclogged those drains while you were here. We appreciate you letting us know now so that we may take of that. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beach!
Great location. Nice place. We enjoyed our stay.
The condo was very spacious and nice. It had a great view but the could have better patio furniture. The only complaint I have is that the master bedroom bed was terrible. You could tell it was very old and had no padding. Sleeping on the floor would probably have been better. I will defiantly stay at the Castaways again.
Great updated and modern unit. So close to everything and very affordable. Would stay again and plan to.
The view as the only plus about this place.. Now, the floor was dirty and the THERMOSTAT was locked so u could not put it on what you wanted and it was not disclosed anywhere in the rental agreement or before we paid $2000 for the week.. I was not very happy at all!!!!!! There was food all over the pots and pans. The furniture on the balcony was very nice but had mold ALL over it. There was food on the floor of the balcony. There was chips under the chair in the living room. So there is no way I would rent this condo again..
I liked Gulf Sands, the complex, the area, the pools, hot tub, and view from our balcony, but I do not recommend this unit. This was my first time staying at this resort and my first time staying in a room with the bunk beds in the hallway, instead of a two-bedroom. A little too close for comfort for my family. Some of the reviews mentioned how uncomfortable the master bed was, but I gave it the benefit of a doubt and decided to give it a shot. Unfortunately, my gamble didn’t pay off. The master bedroom mattress was awful. It realllllly needs to be updated. All in all, it wasn’t a bad trip. With a few changes to this unit (including making the bunk beds more comfortable, a new couch), it could be a great condo for a couple.
Thanks for your review. Thank you for the compliments and also the constructive feedback on Royal Palms 1306. Please know the owners recently had new tile flooring installed as well as replaced both bathroom vanities, added large, wall-mounted Smart TV. We understand the importance of comfort and your comments will help the owner will future improvements. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
We loved our stay here. The location is convenient to everything, and right on the beach. We like that it is not a large/dense facility. It is quaint, and quiet, with a real "homey" atmosphere. Reservations/check in was very easy. Management communication with us was excellent - prompt, informative, and they were very courteous and friendly. The view from our balcony was beautiful. We liked that it was right on the beach. A wood walkway would have made access easier. The pool was very pretty. I only wish it was lighted for nighttime swimming. Very relaxing experience overall. Our main complaint is that the refrigerator never got cold. From other reviews, I see that others have had the same complaint. The guest book in the room and info posted on the fridge itself said that it was normal for it to be warm at first since it takes 12-24 hours to cool once hot food is put into it. However, the fridge was very warm when we first arrived and it was empty. We bought cold food locally, and by the next morning, the butter was melted into liquid. Coming in from the hot beach, it would be nice to grab a cold drink from the fridge, but they were never more than slightly cool. We didn't formally complain about the fridge temp, since from what we read in their supplied literature, they seem to think it is normal for it to be that warm.
Hi Lisa, thanks for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed Southern Sands #306, the location, & the view. This unit was completely remodeled in the beginning of 2019! We appreciate the compliments and also the feedback on the fridge. Please know we do not think solid butter turning into liquid is normal. We will inform the owner of this so they are aware. Thanks again & we look forward to welcoming you back to the beach! (btw we hope you had a fantastic birthday!!)
Awesome vacation - from the time we reserved thru the entire week. Check in was a breeze. They even called to let us know we could get in early. Communication was always quick and friendly. The townhouse was very clean and had everything we needed. Layout was great. We are a family of 4 with two teenagers who brought a friend. Everyone had their own space and we enjoyed our time together. The pool and beach access was perfect. Our extended family stayed at the same complex. We had about 10-12 townhouses rented for the week. I would say #30 was one of the nicest. Our reservation, check in experience was the best. Others had last minute cancellation and their townhouses were not clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you for making our vacation so enjoyable.
I've stayed at Royal Palms for my last few visits to Gulf Shores. The penthouse unit is clean, comfortable, and has the best view ever! One of my favorite things about this complex is it's location on the beach. It is a very short walk and there are chairs available to rent if you don't feel like carrying your own.